photo credit: Paul Redstone

Advisory Council

Kestrel Land Trust has established an Advisory Council to achieve the following goals:

  • To increase public awareness about the urgency of protecting the Valley’s land.
  • To expand Kestrel’s connections with professional, community, and political networks
  • To raise private and public funding to promote land conservation
  • To be a source of expertise and advice to the Board of Trustees
  • To serve on designated Committees of the Board of Trustees.

Current Advisory Council Members:

Doug Albertson: Town Planner for Belchertown. Pioneer Valley Planning Commission Executive Committee. Founder of Opportunities for Communities, which is dedicated to providing experiential learning opportunities in Haiti to young people. Former Kestrel Land Trust Board Chair and Trustee.

Harvey Allen: Self-taught naturalist of the Valley and expert birder. Member of the Amherst Conservation Commission and long-time resident, as well as a former Valley Land Fund board member.

Rosemary Arnold: Owner of Conklin Office Furniture, supplier of reconditioned eco-friendly office products. She is a conservation activist, President of Winding River Land Conservancy, and former Chair of the Blandford Conservation Commission, as well as a former Valley Land Fund Board member.

Sanford (Sandy) Belden: Retired CEO of a regional banking company in New York State. Lives in Hatfield, across from his APR-protected 12-generation family farm. Serves in leadership positions on the boards of the Community Foundation of Western Mass., Cooley Dickinson Hospital, Pioneer Valley Habitat for Humanity, and the Springfield Symphony Orchestra.  

John Body: Private practice consultant, clinician, and academic coach for students with learning disabilities and attention issues. Wildlife photographer and videographer. Former Dean at Mount Holyoke College and Valley Land Fund board member.

Beth Hooker, PhD: Agroecologist, educator, and Sustainability Initiative Director at Hampshire College. Former Kestrel Trustee.

David King, PhD: Research wildlife biologist, US Forest Service. Adjunct faculty, Department of Natural Resources Conservation, UMass. David lives in Amherst. Former Kestrel Trustee.

Joel Russell: Land Use Attorney and Planning Consultant, and Executive Director of the Form-Based Codes Institute, a national think tank and educational organization. 

Laurie Sanders: Naturalist and environmental consultant. Former host and producer of "Field Notes" radio show on WFCR. Conducts environmental tours in the southern hemisphere with her husband. Former Valley Land Fund board member.   

About Kestrel